Grammar rant I

I’ve titled this post with Roman Numerals. Are you impressed? Well all that’s about to change as I’m about to be petty af, so strap yourselves in.

You know what bugged me today?

Someone at work said “I’m a tad bit annoyed at my boyfriend for not telling me he was going out with his mates tonight.”

Forget the annoyance over when people get annoyed at their partners for not telling them things, because a) No one cares, Beth. We’re all trying to enjoy our lunches and watch Peep Show in peace.  No forget that, b) Did you hear it? You’re a what? A tad what?

A tad bit.

Correct me if I’m wrong, but a tad IS a bit. Right? Like, a little bit? You know what, don’t correct me because I know I’m right. I looked it up. I looked it up while I was supposed to be listening to the customer on the phone ranting about how she was pissed this place wasn’t open until after New Years, like she really needed a pool kit fucking ASAP or someones life dep- … My apologies, I digress.

This is like when people say “the ATM machine”. They’ve just added another word in there, unnecessarily. It’s like saying “That’s a canine dog.” or “Look at my infant baby child.”

What’s worse is people do it all the time. It annoys the shit out of me.

Look, I know what you’re thinking. “God, shut up, stop whining about such little things and move on with your life.”
You know what, no. I’ve heard it too many times.
The guy from The Oatmeal would back me up. “10 words you need to stop misspelling”, “What it means when you say literally”, honestly just go look at his grammar shit, it’s great.

While I’m at it: “Oops” is a contender for most irritatingly misspelled word in my life. Do you know how people I know spell it? “Opps.”
I violently and abhorrently shit you not, they write it that way and go about their merry day like nothing’s the matter.
Just say what you’ve written in your head. “Oops” and “Opps” have completely different sounds! I have trouble seeing how this isn’t obvious. Oops indeed.

Lastly, as if something so beautiful should be ruined… spaghetti bolognese. I will admit, I’m not 100% sure of the spelling of bolognese, I’m fairly sure it differs from place to place, but what shouldn’t be allowed are shortened phrases like “spag bog” and… actually no, that’s it. That’s all I have an issue with. WHERE DID THE ‘G’ COME FROM?!
I’m all for shortening words, I know it’s not the classiest, but it’s practical and familiar. That doesn’t mean you can go throwing in extrag lettergs whereg they clearlyg dog not belog.

That’s all for today.
I’m sorry.
(No, I’m not)
Yes, I am.

Leave a Reply

